An Exotic Caribbean Jewel of White Sand Beaches
Tropical Blue Skies, and Alluring Turquoise Waters
for Unforgettable Island Vacations


    St. Lucia Island Resorts
    Island Culture

  • Government & Politics
  • St. Lucia's Capital and largest city is Castries. The country is divided into 11 administrative quarters. This island nation is a parliamentary democracy and a full member of Great Britain's Commonwealth of Nations. They recognize England's Elizabeth II as their constitutional monarch who is represented on St. Lucia with a Governor-General. Actual control of the nation rests with an elected Prime Minister and the two bodies of Parliament, the House of Assembly and the Senate.

    The official state language of St. Lucia is English. The island is a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), a league of several Caribbean island nations united for trade and commerce purposes. The official currency of the community is the East Caribbean Dollar. St. Lucia is also a member of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States who come together for several economic and political purposes, along with aiding each other in times of natural disasters, such as hurricanes.

  • St. Lucia Culture & Religion
  • The Island of St. Lucia offers a culture rich with the backgrounds of many different peoples. African, French, and English influences are among the most prevalent. The island's secondary language, spoken by a majority of the populace, is the local Kreole dialect, a form of French Patois.

    A large majority, about 68%, of Saint Lucians are Roman Catholics and the religious festivals and practices are an integral part of the island lifestyle. The rest of the population is represented as follows: Seventh-day Adventists 9%, Pentecostalists 6%, Anglicans 2%, and Rastafari 2%.
  • St. Lucia's Nobel Winners
  • An interesting fact about St. Lucia is that it has the highest ratio on Earth for the number of Nobel Laureates produced in comparison to total population. Two Nobel recipients have come from St. Lucia: Sir Arthur Lewis for the Nobel Prize in Economics in 1979; and Derek Walcott for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1992.
  • next >>